Equity Awards Dinner

For the past twenty years, EEC has been honoring individuals and organizations who are dedicated to creating a more equitable society. Originally begun as the Woman of Valor awards, these events have raised crucial funds to support us in our work. The first Equity Awards Dinner was held in December 2000, and subsequent dinners have been held in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2006. The Equity Awards Dinner is an affirmation of our crucial task as educators -- to help children learn to respect individual differences and value human diversity.

In addition to Women of Valor, we have honored Groundbreakers, Equity Champions, Corporate Exemplars, and Rising Stars. Over the years, this stellar group of honorees has impressed us with their tireless work and strong commitment. They are an inspiration to all of us in continuing the work for equality in education for all children.

2008 Event

The 2008 Equity Awards Dinner celebrated and honored the work of individuals and organizations who have helped to advance equity and social justice. The gala event was held on November 20, 2008, from 6-9 pm, at the Lighthouse, a unique waterfront venue at Chelsea Piers in New York City. For more information please contact eec@fhi360.org

To visit our E-Journal and Event Photo Journal click here.

We are very proud of the 2008 stellar honorees. They are listed below. (click here for bios with photos)

Woman of Valor

  • Dr. Augusta Souza Kappner, President-Emerita, Bank Street College of Education

Corporate Exemplar

  • Pitney Bowes, Inc. (Accepting: Juanita T. James, Chief Communications Officer)

Equity Champions

  • Ellen Baxter, Founder/Executive Director, Broadway Housing Communities
  • Judith Goldberg, Director, Initiative for Women with Disabilities at the Elly & Steve Hammerman Health & Wellness Center, NYU Hospital for Joint Diseases
  • Dr. Maritza B. Macdonald, Senior Director of Education and Policy, American Museum of Natural History

Rising Star

  • Joanne Smith, Founder/Executive Director, Girls for Gender Equity, Inc.

The event was hosted by LeDerick Horne, winner of the 2006 Rising Star Award.

We are delighted to announce the Co-Chairs of the 2008 Equity Awards Dinner:

Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Donna Orender, President, Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA)
  • Stephen F. Moseley, President and Chief Executive Officer, AED
  • Richard W. Riley, Former U.S. Secretary of Education


  • Dr. Denise Glyn Borders, Senior Vice-President, U. S. Education and Workforce Development, AED
  • Lisa Guggenheim, Vice President for Community and Governmental Relations, American Museum of Natural History
  • Dr. Linda Levine, Graduate Faculty, Bank Street College of Education
  • Valerie Oliver-Durrah, President & CEO, The Neighborhood Technical Assistance Clinic (NTAC)
  • Dr. Regina Peruggi, President, Kingsborough Community College
  • Liz Schroeder, Executive Director, Advertising Women of New York (AWNY)

All proceeds support the Educational Equity Center at the Academy for Educational Development (EEC/FHI 360). For information please contact eec@fhi360.org


Past Events

In 2006, we were delighted to honor the outstanding work of the following individuals and corporations working toward various aspects of equity.

  • Margaret E. Mahoney for her long-time advocacy for equity and quality in health care.
  • Brown Johnson for her creative leadership in establishing equity in children's television programming.
  • Washington Mutual for its commitment to successful schools, vibrant communities and financial literacy.
  • LeDerick Horne for his advocacy and mentorship for students with disabilities.
  • Barbara Denning Finberg, a pioneer in early childhood education and an esteemed member of the Board of Directors of Educational Equity Concepts until her death on March 5, 2005.

Women of Valor

Harilyn Rousso, 1988
Georgia L. McMurray, 1989
Shirley M. Malcom, 1990
Joan Schine, 1991
Joycelyn Elders, 1993
Linda Darling-Hammond, 1995
Selma W. Greenberg, 1996
Digna Sánchez, 1997
Marcia Ann Gillespie, 2000
Cecily Cannan Selby, 2000
Judith E. Heumann, 2001
Dorothy Pitman Hughes, 2001
Joyce Roché, 2002
Corbett Joan O’Toole, 2003
Ellen Galinsky, 2003
Margaret E. Mahoney, 2006
Barbara Denning Finberg, in memorium, 2006


Rosa L. Parks, 1992
DeAnna Banks Beane, 1992
Alice Cardona, 1992
August Chasen, 1992
Louise Derman-Sparks, 1992
Annie Ellman, 1992
Pat Eng, 1992
Christine Franklin Krieff, 1992
Lisette Nieves, 1992
Carol Ann Roberson, 1992
The Boston Women’s Health Book Collective, 1993
Mara Benitez, 1995
Claudia Butler, 1995
Diana Cuthberton, 1995
Sandra Jenoure, 1995
Rachel Theilheimer, 1995
Carmen Vega-Rivera, 1995
Alice Miller, 1995

Equity Champions

Vincent McGee, 2000
Peter Newman, 2000
Sui Y. Zee, 2000
Elizabeth Stock and Daniel L. Dolgin, 2001
Marco Stoffel, 2001
Lawrence Scadden, 2002
Barbara Gerolimatos, 2002
Lolita Chandler, 2003
Luz Claudio, 2003

Rising Stars

Maribel Vázquez, 2001
Third Wave Foundation, 2002
LeDerick Horne, 2006

Corporate Exemplars

Patrice Hall, Chase Manhattan Bank, 2000
Westina Matthews Shatteen, Merrill Lynch, 2001
Sophie Sa, The Panasonic Foundation, 2002
Helen Benham, Scholastic Inc., 2002
Harriet Edelman, Avon Products, Inc., 2003
Brown Johnson, Nickelodeon Preschool, 2006
Washington Mutual, 2006


More and more, consumers look to corporations to acknowledge and take action on social issues. In response, companies are reaching out to support organizations that impact the issues and causes that their consumers care about.

The benefits of corporate social responsibility are many. Brands are burnished through a company’s efforts in supporting worthy causes, and this can drive consumer loyalty and enhance brand perception. And, importantly, funds are raised for the organizations that need them.

EEC at FHI 360 depends on the generous support of its corporate funders and donors. These investments in our organization have enabled us to create and implement important programs like Quit It!, Playtime is Science and After-School Math PLUS.

For information on how your organization can make a difference, please contact Linda Colón at 212-367-4572 or eec@fhi360.org